Thoughts on Half the Sky

FightingFoodDemons

Image

Half the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof & Sheryl WuDunn

I am almost done reading this book, and I have to say it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. The authors – a husband & wife journalist team – have traveled the world documenting the plight of oppressed women & girls offering inspiring stories of empowerment from remote villages and cities far away. Reading this book has redefined the way I view feminism – that it is not simply examining the role of women in music videos and looking for equality in the workplace in the West. Empowering women goes much farther and deeper than that. (Read the book to find out what I mean!)

I often find myself feeling guilty for food that has gone to waste because of my eating disorder, and the fact that I have spent so much time purposely limiting what I eat while…

View original post 179 more words

Leave a Reply

