There are always Good Times and Bad Times

I am definitely feel the stress of recent medical test results. I just found out I have some “abnormalities”. I am trying my best not to panic. I have already been feeling the difference in health after seven days on a vegetarian diet, and I know if I keep the faith, and stick to my course, I can get through this.

In happier news: Last night I made the most delicious soup! I stole a no-chicken noodle soup recipe from a fellow blogger, but tweaked it to have an asian flare (combining some flavors from a vegetarian cookbook I have). I marinated extra firm tofu for an hour in rice wine vinegar (two splashes), soy sauce (three splashes), and sesame oil (a spash) combined with ginger, onion powder, garlic powder, black sesame seeds, white sesame seeds, ground cardamon, ground corriander, ginger and hot red chili flakes (its a premade toasted sesame/ginger spic mix). Then after an hour, I put them in a large deep pan until the cubes were golden brown, and then removed them from the pan. I then added some oil to the pan, sauteed some onions (julianned) and minced garlic on medium heat for a minute, then i added a small dash of vice wine vinegar, soy, and sesame oil and sauteed for another two minutes. Then I filled the deep pan with veggie stock (large box), then added 1/2 c broccoli, about 15 snow pea pods, the tofu, 1/4 cup sweet baby corn niblets, and three large leaves of kale shredded into bitable pieces. I added some more red chili flakes, and then brought the mixture to a boil for 10 minutes, then added two angel hair pasta nests broken into small pieces. Once laddled into a bowl, I added some pieces of raw red pepper (about 1/4 in pieces and a pinch of black and white sesame seeds and a tiny drizzle of sesame oil…

 

I know that sounds very haphazard, and my measures ARE very approximate, BUT IT WAS DELICIOUS!

I was so unbelievable impressed with myself, considering I am not usually so satisfied with a meal containing animal products.

All-in-all a win for vegetarians AND vegans everywhere.

Leave a Reply

